Author Topic: Thinking of joining the club...  (Read 19404 times)

Offline cosmic

• antrx.com junior member
Thinking of joining the club...
« on: Mar 16, 2007, 12:07AM »
G'day,

I remember being 15 years old, and seeing the then new U13 Bluebird SSS released here in Australia... I guess if nothing else, I just loved that it had a Heads Up Display, but also its lovely styling compared to most of the then very boxy cars on the market.  After falling in love with this car, I decided that I'd never own a car that wasn't feature packed...

Fast foward a few years, I got my first car... and didn't have to compromise on that decision - I got a 1981 Nissan 280zx... power steering, windows, mirrors, a/c, battery meter, adjustable wiper speed, targa roof...

The time however has come that I need a family car... I'm a full time student, as is my fiancée, and we are expecting our first child in October.  So, I started thinking of cars I'd consider owning other than a "Zed".... and the Bluebird came to mind.

Looking online at a few sites, I see they sell for around $4,500 - $9,500... 

At 13ish years old, what kinds of problems can I expect the cars to have?  Any common faults to be aware of?  Do they suffer from rust as badly as the 280zx?

I'm curious how much they sold for new? 

So many questions... :) 

Any advice greatly appreciated...

cheers

cosmic

Offline Jono

• The Wise Man
  • Global Moderator
  • post whore
  • memory boy!
Re: Thinking of joining the club...
« Reply #1 on: Mar 16, 2007, 01:23AM »
I've heard of them rusting in the bottom of the doors, but it isn't really an issue if you get to it when it first appears. It's apparently caused by a foam block inside the door holding water and rusting the door skin.

If you do a quick search you should be able to find a heap more info...

EDIT: here's a post from a little while back: http://www.antrx.com/smf/index.php?topic=11200.0
« Last Edit: Mar 16, 2007, 01:25AM by Jono »
#1 Post Wh0re
pringles was here!