Author Topic: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!  (Read 3849 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SR20ME

  • antrx.com full member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
  • Karma: +1/-0
Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« on: Aug 19, 2013, 07:02PM »
Hi guys

I don't think its ever been tried or talked on the forum but today at a wreckers I swapped the front brake calliper mounting plate and callipers of a U12 and Nissan Maxima A32 and they bolt right up, no problem. If the A33 uses the same two piston calliper then I would think A33's will bolt up as well. Easy brake upgrade thanks to Nissan's clever recylcing of parts haha.  Would just need to get maxima disc size and redrilled.

I noticed the U12 front calliper disc piston is quite large and almost the same size as the area of the two piston callipers from the A32 & A33 so don't know how much difference it will make.

One question though. If the front brake disc do not have 5 holes and another hole drilled to match 4 studs for my U12 hubs is it safe to assume I have still the U12 discs which are 4 drilled holes already??? If so WTF is with that!

Offline noss

  • Administrator
  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 13880
  • Karma: +275/-50
  • Gender: Male
  • great scott!
    • antrx
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #1 on: Aug 21, 2013, 03:48PM »
i'm a little bit confused by your last question, but if the discs are like on my mini, there is a 5th hole which is to bolt the rotor to the hub to assist in installation.

i could be totally off what you're asking though

http://polyfedelicio.us/imgs/ - free image hosting for whatever you like

Offline Dragon

  • What do they call a mini pringle!?!
  • antrx cruise monkey
  • antrx.com full member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #2 on: Aug 21, 2013, 09:57PM »
not quite sure what your asking but the a32 and the a33 use the same rotors
standard u12 rotors have a smaller Diameter.

the rotor dimension are as followed

A32/A33  (DBA 914)

Vent   Vented
Diameter              280
Height                   50
Thickness               26
Min Thickness         24
Centre Hole Dia       68
Bolt Holes                5

R33 - GTS-4 (DBA 953)

Vent   Vented
Diameter               280
Height                    49
Thickness               26
Min Thickness          24.2
Centre Hole Dia        68
Bolt Holes                 4

U12  (DBA 617)

Vent   Vented
Diameter               257
Height                    49
Thickness               22
Min Thickness          20
Centre Hole Dia        68
Bolt holes                 4

U13 (DBA 903)

Vent   Vented
Diameter                280
Height                     49.2
Thickness                22
Min Thickness          20
Centre Hole Dia        68
Bolt Holes                 4
"Noss is GOD"

Offline SR20ME

  • antrx.com full member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #3 on: Aug 22, 2013, 01:07PM »
Thanks Dragon for the specs. I have downloaded a DBA sheet someone posted on here earlier with specs for brakes so have an idea of size.

I know the 4 stud U12 rotors are smaller. I will take some photo's but maybe my question should be this.

If you wished to upgrade your rotors to either Maxima / Avenir or skyline r32 which are 5 stud fittings and you have 4 stud hubs, should your disc rotor have effectively another hole that has been drilled through to fit a standard 5 stud brake disc to a 4 stud hub (5 std holes + 1 drilled hole). My disc rotors only have 4 stud holes also and not 5 or more.

I will measure the disc and check what they are from. Thanks guys.

Offline noss

  • Administrator
  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 13880
  • Karma: +275/-50
  • Gender: Male
  • great scott!
    • antrx
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #4 on: Aug 23, 2013, 09:56AM »
oh ok, i've got what you're saying.

you want to either source a 4 stud rotor that matches in size, or buy a set of blank rotors and have the holes drilled. you do not want to weaken any part of your brake disc by throwing in extra holes in the mounting face.

what you want to do if you're going to source brakes that you can buy off the shelf is obviously first match the diameter of the rotor, the stud pattern and the centre hole diameter also try and match the hat height.

i would say that you would need the same brakes as i used to run, the rotors from the r32 skyline gts4. they're 4 stud 4x114.3, 280mm rotors with a 68mm centre hole and matching hat height.

they had to be manufactured, took 1 and a half weeks to get them from the day i ordered them. they're from the skyline gts4 and type m, they're dba part number 953 from memory, only made on request.

putting these in right now



280mm x 26mm slotted dba's with kangaroo paw vanes.

http://polyfedelicio.us/imgs/ - free image hosting for whatever you like

Offline pedro666

  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 2324
  • Karma: +26/-8
  • Gender: Male
  • VET NEO VVL is how I roll...
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #5 on: Aug 23, 2013, 11:29AM »
what about the u13?
the words "race car" spelled backward still spell "race car"? 




skype_shannan801

Offline SR20ME

  • antrx.com full member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #6 on: Aug 23, 2013, 11:58AM »
what about the u13?

Looked up the catalogue and the U13 rotors are 4 stud and same dimensions as the maxima although I am not sure if the local version had one piston or two piston callipers. So for an upgrade you could get A32 / A33 maxima front callipers and use U13 disc rotors. However if you go on ebay and type disc rotor u13 or something similar heaps turn up as 5 studs.

oh ok, i've got what you're saying.

you want to either source a 4 stud rotor that matches in size, or buy a set of blank rotors and have the holes drilled. you do not want to weaken any part of your brake disc by throwing in extra holes in the mounting face.

what you want to do if you're going to source brakes that you can buy off the shelf is obviously first match the diameter of the rotor, the stud pattern and the centre hole diameter also try and match the hat height.

i would say that you would need the same brakes as i used to run, the rotors from the r32 skyline gts4. they're 4 stud 4x114.3, 280mm rotors with a 68mm centre hole and matching hat height.


I wasn't sure regarding drilling more holes if this would be a problem or not but I agree with your logic. Interesting the GTS 4 had 4 studs when other skylines have 5. I wonder what Nissan were thinking. Good for us U12 owners anyway. Thanks for the info Noss, I'll check it out! Not really keen on the extra money for slotted rotors but I know they work (had them on another car).

Thanks guys for your advice, I appreciate the help

Offline noss

  • Administrator
  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 13880
  • Karma: +275/-50
  • Gender: Male
  • great scott!
    • antrx
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #7 on: Aug 23, 2013, 06:09PM »
what about the u13?

domestic u13 brakes are not as thick as the maxima. the gts4 brakes are the same. they're basically maxima brakes in 4x114.3

http://polyfedelicio.us/imgs/ - free image hosting for whatever you like

Offline pedro666

  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 2324
  • Karma: +26/-8
  • Gender: Male
  • VET NEO VVL is how I roll...
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #8 on: Aug 25, 2013, 11:33AM »
you would still have to get the 4 stud gtst machined down to 274?
the words "race car" spelled backward still spell "race car"? 




skype_shannan801

Offline SR20ME

  • antrx.com full member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #9 on: Aug 25, 2013, 10:19PM »
you would still have to get the 4 stud gtst machined down to 274?

I don't think so but not sure. Still haven't measured my disc rotors. Sorry guys, will do this soon!

Offline noss

  • Administrator
  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 13880
  • Karma: +275/-50
  • Gender: Male
  • great scott!
    • antrx
Re: Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #10 on: Aug 26, 2013, 08:47AM »
No you don't get them machined down.  They to on as is. Although that is my experience with the u13 import calipers and gts4 rotors.

The reason you guys with gtr brakes have to machine down is that the mounting points of the caliper offset the brake caliper differently between the r32 and u12.



Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2

http://polyfedelicio.us/imgs/ - free image hosting for whatever you like

Offline pedro666

  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 2324
  • Karma: +26/-8
  • Gender: Male
  • VET NEO VVL is how I roll...
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #11 on: Aug 26, 2013, 11:41AM »
oh ya thats right, its been awhile..
so A32/33 calipers (twin spot) & r32/33 gts4 rotors..

While the stock master cylinder is ok, I have been looking at the BM57, z32 I think master cylinder. It has a larger piston than stock. however the piping holes are on different sides. Has anyone fitted these noss? I think hiro used the z32 booster.

« Last Edit: Aug 26, 2013, 11:57AM by pedro666 »
the words "race car" spelled backward still spell "race car"? 




skype_shannan801

Offline SSS

  • Administrator
  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 8268
  • Karma: +5020/-3
  • Gender: Male
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #12 on: Aug 27, 2013, 11:07AM »
You might want to check too, and i'll double check on my black U12 tonight, but I vaguely remember my BMC on the black car being a BM57, 15/16" bore, which was on the car when I bought it back in '99. I know it's nearly a 1" bore as I was going to upgrade to that size, however going from 15/16" to 1" isn't a big change.

Offline pedro666

  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 2324
  • Karma: +26/-8
  • Gender: Male
  • VET NEO VVL is how I roll...
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #13 on: Aug 27, 2013, 01:10PM »
I just bought this, then logged on to read sss post.. ::)
http://holfordmotors.com/store/HFM-46010-30p02
you have to run lines to the other side. I think the bm50 is the r32..
« Last Edit: Aug 27, 2013, 01:15PM by pedro666 »
the words "race car" spelled backward still spell "race car"? 




skype_shannan801

Offline SSS

  • Administrator
  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 8268
  • Karma: +5020/-3
  • Gender: Male
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #14 on: Aug 27, 2013, 01:30PM »
Or it could be a BM44, I don't remember.

Don't worry mate, that one is a 17/16" bore, so should be noticeable.
« Last Edit: Aug 27, 2013, 01:32PM by SSS »

Offline pedro666

  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 2324
  • Karma: +26/-8
  • Gender: Male
  • VET NEO VVL is how I roll...
Re: Maxima A32 brakes on u12 no problem!
« Reply #15 on: Sep 3, 2013, 08:50PM »
mmm seems I don't have room to run the lines ::), so the bm57 is no good to me., its up for sale...the lines will bash my intake. It wont be an issue for low mount sr, or ca ,ka i don't think.
the words "race car" spelled backward still spell "race car"? 




skype_shannan801

Offline pedro666

  • post whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 2324
  • Karma: +26/-8
  • Gender: Male
  • VET NEO VVL is how I roll...
the words "race car" spelled backward still spell "race car"? 




skype_shannan801