Author Topic: Ignition light  (Read 2758 times)

Offline cruizer

• post whore
Ignition light
« on: Feb 13, 2006, 03:57PM »
I've heard that TR.X's have a light for the igniton thing. Mine doesn't have one but i had a look and there is a hole. I want to put a LED in there but have no idea what to hook it up to. The LED's came with wires etc so I jus need to plug 'em in essentially.....but where??

Any help would be appreciated very much because I have limited knowledge in electrical matters  ::)

Offline eurisko

• Frankenmotor Builder
  • post whore
  • Oldschool and Newstyle
Re: Ignition light
« Reply #1 on: Feb 13, 2006, 04:09PM »
Hmmm... Ignition light...

LEDs arent just a simple matter of pluging them in... they need a dropping resistor so they dont get blown by the 12v. 50ohm resistor should be enough (LEDs draw 250mA dont they? I cant remember....)

Nonetheless, its still not as simple as that...

You can have it running off 12V mains supply... meaning its running 24/7... but i dont think you want that.

Um... running off the door switches are also, pretty useless... cause that would mean the main light is on. Which would make it pretty redundant.

Adding a switch is the only quick solution.

You COULD be hardcore and add a delay circut as seen in many newer cars, that gradually Dim the internal light after the door has been closed. I think i saw them sold at Jaycar not to long ago.

But, if u just want an led... wire in a resistor, K goes to positive, A goes to negative, bam your done.

The Nissubishda will live....

Offline cruizer

• post whore
« Reply #2 on: Feb 13, 2006, 04:33PM »
It says on the packet that you can connect directly to the 12V power supply....."Connect the red wire ( + ) to a live 12V supply that is part of the switch igniton system".

Why can't I jus plug it into the same thing that the TRX's do?? Im sure it would be the same just with no light.

Offline eurisko

• Frankenmotor Builder
  • post whore
  • Oldschool and Newstyle