Author Topic: Fuel Type & Economy - '91 Pintara TRX  (Read 2191 times)

sticks1977

Fuel Type & Economy - '91 Pintara TRX
« on: Mar 9, 2011, 05:40AM »
I have noticed recently with my beloved Pintara that the fuel economy is nowhere near what it used to be. I am currently using my car more often (using the car for deliveries) but I get nowhere near 250km for half a tank of fuel.

Will admit straight up that I am a complete noob when it comes to car maintenance and repairs so if any work had to be done I would have to take the car to the mechanic or find someone in Melbourne who would be crafty enough to fix it.

I mainly fill up the tank with regular Unleaded from Shell, which has recently made me start to wonder whether I should be looking at the E10 unleaded or the premium unleaded (V-Power?) fuel instead.

If anyone has any advice, or knows of a reputable mechanic in the south eastern suburbs of Melbourne please let me know. Must admit the car is pushing 20 years of age but it has been a wonderful and usually very reliable car - best car I've ever owned actually! :-)

Regards, Shaun (sticks1977)

Offline TRX81

• antrx.com junior member
  • Loves his TRX !
Re: Fuel Type & Economy - '91 Pintara TRX
« Reply #1 on: Mar 9, 2011, 06:42AM »
It sounds to me the car needs a good service with 'everything'
Replaced n then you will find she will go allot better.
is obsessed with TRX's :-)

Offline Kranzy

• Administrator
  • post whore
  • U12 - SR20DET
« Reply #2 on: Mar 9, 2011, 11:54AM »
Be careful running ethanol fuel as our fuel lines werent designed to handle it and will perish the rubber hoses etc...
Quote from: noss
learnt something new just then, dont eat baked bean sandwhiches while changing the paper in the copier

"Noss is GOD"

Offline SSS

• Administrator
  • post whore
« Reply #3 on: Mar 9, 2011, 07:16PM »
What Paul said. If you replaced the rubber hoses with new stuff, it'd be ok to run E10.