Author Topic: U12 Pintara - Engine Diagnosis? - HELP!  (Read 2739 times)

sticks1977

U12 Pintara - Engine Diagnosis? - HELP!
« on: Feb 22, 2011, 06:47AM »
Over the last several weeks I have begun to notice a rather disturbing noise coming from the engine of my '91 Pintara. I am a complete car noob so I would have no idea how to fix it - changing tyres, checking oil & coolant are pretty much the only mechanical skills I have. The noise started to appear after I had to drive through some flash flooding in south east Melbourne a few weeks ago.

I have recorded a short video to give you an idea of the noise once I have started the car - unfortunately I can't post  the link here so please message me and I can provide the YouTube link to you. I have previously posted in another automotive thread and some people have mentioned it may be a noisy lifter (whatever that is!)... I am looking to take my car to a new local mechanic and would like to at least have an idea of what I may have to outlay in order to get it fixed.

It has been a wonderful car for me - I have had it roughly 10 years now and the car is approaching 20 years of age so it has served me really well. I have kept up with constant servicing so I have my fingers crossed that there is not too much damage.

Thanks for reading and look forward to any replies or insight...

Regards, Shaun (sticks1977)

Offline SSS

• Administrator
  • post whore
Re: U12 Pintara - Engine Diagnosis? - HELP!
« Reply #1 on: Feb 22, 2011, 07:28AM »
PM me the link and i'll post it up. I'll have a look at it and try and recommend what it could be.

Offline SSS

• Administrator
  • post whore
« Reply #2 on: Feb 22, 2011, 09:12AM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiwaXeQTwrI

Haven't got youtube access at work...I'll look at it tonight.

Offline JAWSTRX!

• antrx.com junkie
  • TRX STYLE!!!
« Reply #3 on: Feb 22, 2011, 09:30AM »