Author Topic: U13 Purchased in Brisbane - Dodgy Car Dealer!!  (Read 2470 times)

Offline BrisU13

• antrx.com newbie with pewbies
U13 Purchased in Brisbane - Dodgy Car Dealer!!
« on: Oct 17, 2009, 11:45PM »
Hey guys, newbie here.

Just wanted to post a bit of a buyer beware story, and get a bit of advice on a couple of tech issues as well.

Bought a shiny U13 Bluebird (White, manual LX) from Emmanuel Cars, Pacific Hwy Springwood.

Short version of the story is that in the stat warranty period, the car was taken back to the dealer and they were told about:

1.  Leaking water and some kind of pressure build up in radiator hoses
2.  Air conditioning not working (dealer claimed he had done a re-gas before I picked up the car, but no good - compressor stuffed)
3.  Unidentified knocking noise in engine

Dealer had the car for a week before giving it back and telling me there was nothing wrong with it other than the air con (evidently he didn't start, or drive it).

The air con compressor wasn't done during the week he had it, waiting on parts apparently.  I took the car anyway (need it for work) on the promise that he'd call when the part was in.  No call to date, and nobody at the dealership answers the phone.

Got an independent inspection from my usual mechanic.  Air con compressor stuffed.  Replace all radiator hoses and radiator cap (which fixed the cooling system, now driveable at least).  Knocking noise may be, but is unlikely to be, air con compressor - suggest we fix that first and test after, any further investigation now means pulling parts out - maybe water pump or timing chain?).  Also oil leak at rocker cover gasket, rooted engine mounts, tyres shot, and a few other bits and pieces that escape me now.  Mechanic suggests in no uncertain terms that there is no way the car should have passed roadworthy.