Author Topic: My U13 vibrates... and I'm not sure where should i be looking at next  (Read 2807 times)

Offline altimaSSS

• antrx.com newbie with pewbies
  • new kid on the block
First of all, a big hello to all of you here and this is my first time posting... although i've been frequenting this site for a while now..  this is a great site and more relevant compared to the american altima sites.. and sometimes i envy those of you driving the Attesa U13 AWD..  :P

i'm from Malaysia and my ride (& my pride ;D) is a 1996 U13 SSS-G AT SR20DE NA, owned it since 2003.

Now to my problem, hope anyone of can give me some idea... Ever since I bought the car, I've been putting up with the rough idle (not erratic but just rough), the whole cabin area was a rattling madness especially when gear engaged on D or R, and more so with AC on. All 3 mounts were shot so i replaced them all.. vibration reduced significantly but it was still there, the next thing was I removed the entire throttle body, gave it a good cleaning using fuel injector/carb cleaner.. only very mild improvement after that..  :(

Feeling frustrated, i drove to a local nissan service centre, they did the power balance test, and checked AAC valve (only from the OBDII reader).. according to them, everything was perfectly alright but refused to investigate further claiming the car is already old hence the vibration.. bla bla..

After some reading, I replaced the distributor cap + rotor, spark plug cables after.. no improvement.

Some symptoms I think worth mentioning are that
1) The engine idles much rougher during very hot days.. it's kinda toned down during cold weather or at night
2) When the AC compressor turns on, the RPM drops momentarily (from 850 to 500rpm) for a couple of secs before stablizing (back to 800-850 rpm).. this also happens when i shift the gear to either D or R. Is this normal ?