Author Topic: 3 inch exhaust - Custom Build  (Read 4683 times)

Offline SR20ME

• antrx.com full member
3 inch exhaust - Custom Build
« on: Mar 21, 2013, 08:13PM »
Hi guys

Well I started on my full 3 inch exhaust from the turbo back. I'm creating the exhaust from the cat back at the moment and all is going well. Time consuming as this is my first time to MIG Weld and doing this gasless means I am making good use of the angle grinder to clean it up a bit as well.

My question is about shape. I am copying the shape of the current exhaust that was on the car which I believe is the same pattern as a stock U12 / Corsair exhaust.

I have noticed there are two 90 degree bends and 1 45 degree bend. With 3 inches should I be worried about flow given these bends. I don't know how else to have the exhaust shaped given the fuel tank position and other parts underneath the car.

Appreciate any ideas  ;D

Offline SSS

• Administrator
  • post whore
Re: 3 inch exhaust - Custom Build
« Reply #1 on: Mar 22, 2013, 06:41AM »
Any particular reason your are torturing yourself by using gasless wire? An e2 size bottle of argon is about $140 plus $10-20 per month for bottle rental.

Offline SR20ME

• antrx.com full member
« Reply #2 on: Mar 22, 2013, 09:10AM »
An e2 size bottle of argon is about $140 plus $10-20 per month for bottle rental.

I'm on a budget I guess. If I can do gasless and save $140 and the welds are strong (which they are) then I'll do it that way. I have plenty of time but not as much in cash. I'll look at gasless today.

Offline SSS

• Administrator
  • post whore
« Reply #3 on: Mar 22, 2013, 09:46AM »
Smaller bottles are available that aren't as expensive. :)
Either way go on with what you are happy with.

Offline crazy2287

• antrx.com full member
« Reply #4 on: Mar 22, 2013, 09:45PM »
The alternative been get everything tacked in strong and then take it somewhere and have it welded up.